KCMA Education


KCMA Certification Course for Architects & Designers

"Leadership and learning are indispensable to each other."  - John F. Kennedy


Take the Course


Architects and designers working on continuing education units are now able to take a course on the certification programs KCMA offers for residential kitchen & vanity cabinets. Recognized by AIA and NKBA, this course provides an overview of KCMA’s three certification programs: 


  • KCMA Quality A161.1 Performance Certification
  • KCMA Severe Use Certification
  • KCMA Responsible, Sustainable Environmental Stewardship (ESP) Certification


AIA-certified architects will earn 1 Learning Unit and NKBA-certified designers will earn 0.1 Continuing Education Units. The course includes a presentation on the three programs, exam and certificate of completion. 


Those successfully completing the exam will gain an understanding of each of the three certification programs, know how to specify and find certified cabinets, acquire an understanding of the test methods contained within the KCMA A161.1 standard, learn about the various practices manufacturers must comply with for ESP certification, and understand the construction requirements for Severe Use cabinetry.


Take the Course



KCMA Quality Seals